The Early Bird Catches the Worm


This is my last blog of the year and, as I write, it reminds me of the Italian proverb, “Chi dorma non piglia pesce,” which literally translated means, “Who sleeps does not catch fish.” Yes, the early bird catches the worm. This picture, taken in Sestri Levante by my wife, Diane, shows

Sestri Levante, Liguria, Italy

 the calm of the evening and the expectation of a catch by the men. So this year, catch what you can by using your time well, by learning, by exploring and perhaps by recording. It would be a great idea if you wrote what you remember of your childhood, your parents and grandparents and of their immigration to America. If not written, it will be lost forever. So…arise early, catch the fish, catch the worm and make your year fulfilling.

Addio….

Explore posts in the same categories: Growing up Italian

3 Comments on “The Early Bird Catches the Worm”

  1. Fran Loszynski Says:

    You may leave your album of ancestors on the shelf I have found after browsing through the year gone by but the memories are forever in your heart. Addio to 2009 may you and your family have a blessed and prosperous New Year!

  2. Pat Santoro Says:

    Ciao Ed,

    I fully subscribe to beginnings – this morning I got up early and added a new class to my regime of Yoga only. I’ve been afraid to try this cardio class, but I did it, I also did the yoga, and while tired, I’m happy. If not today, when…? Thanks for your memories. Buon Nuovo Anno.

  3. Gene Says:

    As much as we may wish otherwise, memories often fade and need to be stoked – such is the blessing and value of blogs like this one. Thanks, Ed.


Leave a Reply

