Minna’s Favorite Recipes- Sauteed Peppers


SAUTEED PEPPERS WITH BALSAMIC VINEGAR
Peperoni in Aceto Balsamico
Serves 6 to 8

Here’s another recipe from The Antipasto Table by Michele Scicolone.  Very tasty, very easy, but be patient and allow the peppers a long slow cooking to tenderize them and bring out the best flavor.  The amounts are easily doubled.

¼ cup extra virgin olive oil                                                                                

Minna

3 large red bell peppers, cored, seeded, and thinly sliced
3 large yellow bell peppers, cored, seeded, and thinly sliced
1 teaspoon sugar
½ teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1.  In a large heavy skillet, heat the oil over medium-low heat.  Add the peppers and cook, stirring occasionally, until tender and spotted with brown, about 25 minutes.  (Do not raise the heat to speed up the cooking or the peppers will burn.)

2.  Add the sugar, salt, and vinegar and stir well.  Simmer until most of the liquid has evaporated, about 5 minutes more.  Serve warm.

BUON APPETITO!

Explore posts in the same categories: Food, Minna's Favorite recipes

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Minna’s Favorite Recipes- Sauteed Peppers”

  1. Caroline Says:

    Hey, thanks for stopping by my blog. These sound great, as I love peppers and antipasto vegetables in general (spicy eggplant and marinated mushrooms too). I never would have guessed they could be so easy to make!


  2. And they are delicious…take it from me, Minna’s husband.

  3. Attila DeLisle Says:

    I can’t wait to try this one!


  4. I came back here twice just to read the recipe again. I can almost taste those peppers of Minna’s. I’m on a diet, and this is one of the first recipes on my list, once I am through the first phase. If I come back again, just to look and drool, I’ll probably break down!


Leave a Reply

